More about Reitstein 177

allanbeardsworth

One of my favourite puzzles so far in this daily series of positions taken from Leonard Reitstein’s Test Your Chess is number 177.

I chose this book as my source for this series of puzzles for personal, quirky, reasons. I picked up the book many years ago at a second hand bookstall, and took it with me several years ago when my family and I had a wonderful holiday in South Africa. That holiday was too packed for there to be much time to more than dip into occasional puzzles, but I so fell in love with the country that the book became a must read. Around that time, I contacted Leonard Reitstein and he kindly sent me another of his books, a history of chess in South Africa, which I have promised myself I will read if/when I am lucky enough to go to that country again.
Back…

View original post 101 more words

Leave a Reply

