An instructive position from Tromsø Olympiad

allanbeardsworth

One of the players who I most like following is Matthew Sadler. His book, Study Chess with Matthew Sadler is excellent: written from the heart, written for the reader. One reason I enjoy watching his games are that he has returned to competitive chess after a long professional career: and he is competing again at the highest levels. Secondly, I like his style: he seems to be able to place his pieces well, apply pressure, find tactics. The sort of player I wish I could emulate.

Last night, I played through his round 9 game. Watching it live, I thought it was a tough, close battle: I couldn’t see how Matthew (on the white side of what turned out to be a typical closed Ruy Lopez) would break through, and in fact, I feared that black’s position was better, with white having a bad bishop. In the game, towards the…

View original post 389 more words

Leave a Reply

