Test your chess: daily chess puzzle

allanbeardsworth

Black to play and win

E Dizdarevic v A Greet, Tromsø Olympiad 2014

I saw this problem in Malcolm Pein’s column in the Daily Telegraph during the Olympiad. I am an avid, and long term (forty year) reader of the Telegraph chess column- if my memory serves me right, written in the 1970s by Tony Miles and latterly by Malcolm. Each day I do the puzzle, if there is one. Most I solve by inspection or soon thereafter: some stump me, and then I cut them out, and solve them during spare moments. The above problem was one such stinker.

Eventually, I saw the solution: examine all biffs means 1…Bg2+! and after the forced 2 Bg2, bringing more pieces to the party leads to 2…Rc6! threatening the unanswerable Rh6+. The Rc6 rook lift could also be seen by following Purdy’s maxim to look for nets– here, the white king…

View original post 60 more words

One Response to “Test your chess: daily chess puzzle”

  1. Shiva Krishna Says:

    a) ..Qg1+ Kxg1Bh2#
    b)..Qg1+ Nxg1Nf2#

Leave a Reply

