Test your chess: daily chess puzzle

allanbeardsworth

White to play and win

White missed the winning line in this position, which I saw in Malcolm Pein’s Daily Telegraph column. The fact that a world class player missed the line shows it is one to study.

Lenier Dominguez v Rustam Kazimdzhanov FIDE Grand Prix, Baku Sept 2014

At first, I couldn’t solve this puzzle, so as is my wont, I tore the positon out of my paper, and carefully, without looking, also tore off the solution.

Clipping in my pocket, it took one standard British unit of time measurement to solve it- the time to make cup of tea, by which time I had the light bulb moment, and had earned a smile. One of the joys of chess to me is to be able to enjoy the little moments when positions are solved, especially as here when they are nice.

Looking at the Purdy motifs, examine all…

View original post 115 more words

One Response to “Test your chess: daily chess puzzle”

  1. Basil Jr Pal Says:

    1. Ne7+…RxN, 2.BxR…QxB, 3. QxN

Leave a Reply

