My New Chess Set from China

John Kutensky

I finally got around to unboxing my new chess pieces!  I was waiting to settle down in my new place before getting them all set up, since I don’t have the room to have it set up in my current apartment, but I was really curious how they all looked, so I succumbed to temptation and brought them out.  First thing I noticed was how large they are.  I thought the pawn was a bishop at first, and the bishop was a king, but after two more pawns, it became clearer what was what.

I really love the details.  I’ve always preferred humanoid chess pieces to abstract ones.  Thanks a lot, Islam.  The bases are pretty interesting, and I feel like the limited color palette gives it an antique feel.  I think it’s meant to represent Qing dynasty China, but I can’t be 100% sure.  It’s definitely Western inspired, though…

View original post 32 more words

One Response to “My New Chess Set from China”

  1. Mike Says:

    Where can I find this chess set

Leave a Reply

