Test your chess: daily chess puzzle # 209

allanbeardsworth

White to play and win

Warning: really hard, or at least I think it is, but very

D Friedgood v V Huang 1971

This one took me all of a standard British unit of time (the time it takes to brew a cup of tea) and all of a long dog walk both without success, so I did what I rarely do with these puzzles, and set the pieces out, and tried to think it through as a game.

Just as I told my daughter I was giving up and going to look at the solution, the solution came to me. 1 Ba6! overloads the black queen.

Firstly, if 1…Qa4 (which, apart from taking a pawn, also takes away b5 from the white bishop), 2 Re7 is decisive.

If 2…Re7, then 3 Qe7+ Kg8[] 4 Bf6 and white emerges a piece up.

Second, and perhaps best for black, is 1…Qf5…

View original post 74 more words

Leave a Reply

